Sarno appoints new communications director, constituent services director

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (WWLP) — Less than 24 hours after Communications Director Tom Walsh announced his resignation, Springfield Mayor Domenic Sarno has announced his replacement.

Sarno announced Tuesday morning that he has appointed James Leydon to be the new Communications Director for the Mayor’s Office. Leydon is a familiar face at City Hall, as has been in Sarno’s office as Director of Constituent Services since 2008.

With Leydon taking the new position, Sarno selected William Baker to be the new constituent services director. Prior to taking the new job, Baker had been working as a legislative aide for Rep. Sean Curran (D-Springfield).

Springfield City Councilor Tim Rooke told 22News that he was stunned to find out at the end of Monday’s Council meeting that Walsh, an attorney, had resigned his position in the Mayor’s Office.

In a statement sent to 22News, Sarno said that he wishes his former employee well.

“I appreciate all of the hard work and dedication that Tom has given over the years, and he will be missed. I wish him all the best as he returns to his first passion, the practice of law, and seeks new opportunities,” Sarno said.

As Director of Communications, Leydon will receive an annual salary of $60,000, while Baker will receive $50,000 per year in his new role.

Copyright 2014 WWLP TV. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Massachusetts (change)

Welcome to Massachusetts onPolitix, powered by 22News. Trust onPolitix for your latest state, local, and national political news. onPolitix is just another way 22News is working for you.
Offices & Officials

Governor: Deval Patrick
Lieutenant Governor: Tim Murray
Attorney General: Martha Coakley
Secretary of State: Bill Galvin

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.