Another Senate race ahead in Mass.

(WWLP) — We just had a U.S. Senate race here in Massachusetts.     The most expensive one in the nation in November, between then incumbent Republican Scott Brown and his then challenger, now Senator Elizabeth Warren.

Now we’re about to do it again.  With Sen. John Kerry becoming Secretary of State, there will be a special election in June to fill his seat.

This race may not have the intensity of the Brown-Warren contest, which came during a Presidential year.

But think how rare it is to have turnover in a U.S. Senate seat here in Massachusetts.

John Kerry became the state’s junior Senator when he took office in 1985, 28 years ago.

He became the state’s senior senator, in 2009, when Sen. Ted Kennedy died.

Kennedy, entered the Senate in 1962, winning a special election for the seat, that had previously been held by his brother, John F. Kennedy, who sent on to become President.

Ted Kennedy won his first full term Senate election in 1964, and went on to re-election each time, until his death in 2009.  He served in the Senate for nearly 47 years. 

Copyright 2014 WWLP TV. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Massachusetts (change)

Welcome to Massachusetts onPolitix, powered by 22News. Trust onPolitix for your latest state, local, and national political news. onPolitix is just another way 22News is working for you.
Offices & Officials

Governor: Deval Patrick
Lieutenant Governor: Tim Murray
Attorney General: Martha Coakley
Secretary of State: Bill Galvin

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.